Foot Guards

Top Ten Fight Kicks

  • Mid-range
  • Beginner
  • Intermediate
  • Experienced
  • Sparring
  • General training

Image coming soon

Product details checked against available sources.

Specifications

DesignNot confirmed
Outer materialPolyurethane synthetic-leather cover, per Top Ten (Budoland); UK retailer Bytomic calls it "Rexion artificial leather"
Padding constructionPPS foam, per Top Ten (Budoland)
Closure systemHook-and-loop fastener, per Top Ten (Budoland)
Toe fixingElastic toe loops, per Top Ten (Budoland)
Ankle cutNot confirmed
Available sizesXS, S, M, M-L, L
Competition approvalModel named on the WAKO approved list - WAKO Equipment Book rev. 6 (04.05.2022) lists Top Ten's foot guard "Fight", article 3068, in red and blue, for point fighting, light contact, kick light and full contact; The red version linked here (Bytomic SKU TT3068RD) is one of the two listed colourways; Bytomic's SKUs carry the article number but not WAKO's colour-and-size codes, and Top Ten also sells a black version, which is not listed. Top Ten's own page lists "WAKO, WAKO NEW LABEL, ITF" under Recognition for the model, without tying it to a colour - the maker's claim - and Bytomic's "Officially approved by WAKO and ITF" is the retailer's wording. WAKO publishes its approved equipment in its Equipment Book. Only WAKO-approved safety equipment is permitted at WAKO international and national events from 1 January 2025, and WAKO requires foot protection to carry the WAKO label, so check the label on the item and your event's rules.
Fit notesTop Ten gives approximate shoe sizes for each size: XS 35-37, S 38-40, M 41-43, M-L 42-44 and L 44-46 (its size chart is an image only). UK retailer Bytomic lists XS, Small, Medium, M/L and Large.
Research-based editorial assessment

Our verdict

A mid-range foot guard from Top Ten, which publishes its construction and sizes itself. WAKO's 2022 Equipment Book lists the model, Top Ten's "Fight" (article 3068), in red and blue for point fighting, light contact, kick light and full contact. It is linked here in red, one of the two listed colourways, though a 2022 listing is not the same as the WAKO label on the item.

WAKO's Equipment Book (revision 6, May 2022) lists Top Ten's foot guard "Fight" as article 3068, in red and blue, for point fighting, light contact, kick light and full contact. UK retailer Bytomic sells it as Top Ten Fight Kicks in red (SKU TT3068RD, linked here), blue and black. Bytomic's SKUs (product codes) carry the same article number.

Budoland, the German company that owns and makes Top Ten, describes a polyurethane synthetic-leather cover over PPS foam padding, elastic toe loops and a hook-and-loop fastener. It gives the sizes as XS, S, M, M-L and L. It also lists WAKO and ITF recognition for the model, which is the maker's claim. Bytomic's description matches: a "resilient Rexion artificial leather" outer and "Bayfill PPS foam" over the instep and ankles. Heel and sole coverage and weight are not stated in text.

Bytomic says the guards are "officially approved by WAKO and ITF". That is the retailer's wording. Only the red and blue versions are colourways WAKO's 2022 list names. WAKO permits only WAKO-approved safety equipment at its international and national events from 1 January 2025 and requires foot protection to carry the WAKO label (WAKO Labels document, rev. 4; WAKO Europe, March 2026). Check the label on the pair you receive and your event's rules.

Best suited to

Kickboxers in the tatami (mat) disciplines or full contact who want a model that WAKO's 2022 Equipment Book identifies by article number. The maker publishes its own specification and five sizes, including an M-L between Medium and Large.

Consider skipping if

You want black for competition (Top Ten's black version is not a colourway WAKO's 2022 list names). You need the heel and sole coverage or the weight to be stated. You are a low kick or K1 Style fighter: those WAKO disciplines do not use foot guards.

The Fight Store editorial assessment
  • Protection3 out of 5
  • Comfort3 out of 5
  • Durability3 out of 5
  • Value3 out of 5

Research-based editorial ratings — not customer reviews.

Pros

  • WAKO's 2022 Equipment Book names the model by article number (3068) in red and blue, and the red version is linked here
  • Elastic toe loops and a hook-and-loop fastener, per Top Ten
  • Five sizes from Top Ten, XS to L, including M-L, each with an approximate shoe size

Cons

  • Top Ten's page lists red, blue and black, but WAKO's 2022 list names only red and blue
  • A listing in WAKO's 2022 book is not the WAKO label WAKO events require on the item itself
  • Heel and sole coverage and weight are not stated in text

Why we rated it this way

Protection (3): Top Ten states PPS foam padding under a synthetic-leather cover, and Bytomic adds that the foam covers the instep and ankles. But heel and sole coverage are not stated, and nothing independent separates it from the other guards here. We rate it on the stated construction, never on an injury-prevention claim.

Comfort (3): elastic toe loops, a hook-and-loop fastener and an in-between M-L size, per Top Ten, with no independent fit evidence.

Durability (3): a polyurethane cover that Top Ten calls durable synthetic leather, with no independent durability evidence.

Value (3): a mid-range price for a model that WAKO's 2022 book names in red and blue, and whose maker publishes its specification. It is linked in red, a listed colourway.

Sources

  • Technical documentation — WAKO Equipment Book, rev. 6 (04.05.2022, approved by the WAKO IF Board and Technical Committee; hosted by WAKO Europe): lists "TOP TEN - Food Guard 'Fight'" (WAKO's spelling) in red (articles 3068-4002 to 3068-4006) and blue (3068-6002 to 3068-6006) only (pp. 64-65), "Approved use: PF, LC, KL, FC", "Disciplines: All"; no black article is listed. Read in a copy of rev. 6 downloaded by the owner, on 2026-10-22. WAKO's Rules Overview page still links this 04.05.2022 edition as its Equipment Book (checked 22 October 2026). Checked 21 October 2026.
  • Manufacturer — Top Ten's own product page on budoland.com (Budoland, the company that owns and makes Top Ten), for foot protector article 3068: a polyurethane cover over PPS foam padding, elastic toe loops and a hook-and-loop fastener, sizes XS, S, M, M-L and L, red, blue and black, and the model's recognition listed as "WAKO, WAKO NEW LABEL, ITF" (the maker's claim). It agrees with Bytomic's description. Checked 22 October 2026.
  • Other source — UK retailer Bytomic's Top Ten Fight Kicks - the purchase route, linked in red (SKU TT3068RD) since 2026-10-22; the description below was read on its black listing (TT3068BK), the same model. It describes "Resilient Rexion artificial leather", "Bayfill PPS foam protects instep and ankles", "Toe loops and Velcro closure" and sizes XS, Small, Medium, M/L and Large, and says "Officially approved by WAKO and ITF" (the retailer's wording). Checked 2026-10-21.
  • Technical documentation — Governing body rulebook: WAKO Rules (04.05.2022 v.2, last revised 25.10.2022), Art. 2.3.1.10 and the discipline chapters: foot protection is mandatory in point fighting, light contact, kick light and full contact - one piece covering the instep, both ankle bones and the heel, with an open sole, covered toes, an elastic toe strip and a self-adhesive strap above the heel. Low kick and K1 Style use none (foot wraps optional). Checked 21 October 2026.
  • Technical documentation — WAKO Labels for approved equipment and clothes, rev. 4 (WAKO HQ, published by WAKO Europe January 2025): from 1 January 2025 only WAKO-approved safety equipment is permitted at all WAKO international and national events; the WAKO label is required on head guards, face masks, gloves, elbow pads, shin guards, shin-instep guards and foot protection, and not on mouthguards, breast protection, groin protection, bandages or ankle guards. Checked 21 October 2026.
  • Technical documentation — WAKO Europe, 5 March 2026: from 1 January 2026, equipment at all local, national, regional, continental and world competitions must be verified, approved and WAKO-labelled; no fights in protective equipment without the WAKO label. Checked 22 October 2026.

Methodology: research-based (not hands-on tested) · How we review products

Last reviewed 2026-10-21 · Last verified 2026-10-21

Explore more